Posted by: carapeck | January 13, 2010

Hummus is for Hippies

Back in 2006 I had just moved into a very small studio in Noe Valley and for the first time ever was living by myself. I remember that my aunt and uncle were in the city and stopped by to check out my new place. While they were visiting I offered them some hummus and crackers and I clearly remember my uncle saying “hummus is for hippies!” My uncle is a pretty funny guy, so this was actually much more funny the way he said it than the way I am. But since then when I hear the word hummus, I often think to myself, “hummus is for hippies.”

Turns out hummus is not just for hippies at all! It is such an amazing snack that is full of protein. I used to make hummus by boiling the chickpeas which took so long it was really not worth it to make, especially when many brands of store bought hummus are pretty tasty. Recently I have been using canned garbanzo beans and homemade hummus has become so easy, quick and even BETTER than the store bought varieties (well, maybe).

I whipped up a batch this past Saturday when there was really nothing to eat for lunch except for a can of soup.

Homemade Kalamata Olive Hummus

  • One can garbanzo beans drained
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic
  • Lemon Juice
  • Tahini
  • Kalamata olives (optional)
  • Salt

Start by spinning the garlic in a food processor. It is best to do the garlic first to make sure that it gets chopped up small. I used two small cloves, but it was a little over powering (Me, use too much garlic? Never!).

Add the can of drained garbanzo beans and process until the beans start to blend. As the food processor is running, slowly start to drizzle olive oil through the top. Continue adding olive oil until the mixture starts to meld together and becomes more smooth.

Add the juice of one lemon. I used a small, Meyer lemon so one lemon did not over power the taste. Most of the additions to the hummus should be done to taste. I actually didn’t have any tahini so didn’t use it and didn’t miss it. It does add more of a typical ‘hummasy’ taste if you do have it. Don’t add the salt until after you add the olives, as they are salty themselves.

If desired, add a handful of kalamata olives.

Process until smooth. Feel free to add more olive oil if you would like a more smooth consistency.

Serve in one of the million different ways hummus can be enjoyed. We had ours on some crusty bread along with curried lentil soup (from a can that was actually pretty good!).

Go enjoy your hippie food!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

